Big Ten Academic Alliance Geospatial Discovery Portal

Big Ten Academic Alliance Geoportal

Historic Mississippi River Corridor Critical Area (MRCCA) Executive Order 79-19 Districts: Minnesota

National Park Service and Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR)
This map delineates the boundary of the Mississippi River Corridor Critical Area (MRCCA) and its four land use districts as designated under Executive Order 79-19 (EO 79-19). These districts were in place from 1976 until 2017, when EO 79-19 was superseded by Minnesota Rules, chapter 6106. The MRCCA is a land corridor along the Mississippi River in the seven-county metro area in which special land use regulations guide development activity. The corridor extends 72 miles along the Mississippi River from the cities of Ramsey and Dayton in the north to the City of Hastings and Ravenna Township in the south. It includes 54,000 acres of land along both sides of the river. The State of Minnesota created the corridor and land use regulations in 1976. Local governments administer the regulations through their local plans and zoning ordinances. The MRCCA is home to a full range of residential neighborhoods and parks, as well as river-related commerce, industry, and transportation. Though the MRCCA has been extensively developed, many intact and remnant natural areas remain, including bluffs, islands, floodplains, wetlands, riparian zones, and native aquatic and terrestrial flora and fauna. EO-79-19 established four districts, each with dimensional standards for river and bluff setbacks, and building height. The purpose of this map is to delineate the physical boundaries for each of these four historic districts.
State of Minnnesota
State Agencies Geospatial Data
Minnesota, United States
December 1, 1976 to January 4, 2017
Contributed by:
More details at