Big Ten Academic Alliance Geospatial Discovery Portal

Big Ten Academic Alliance Geoportal

Areas of Concentrated Poverty: Metro Twin Cities, Minnesota

The Metropolitan Council defines Areas of Concentrated Poverty (ACPs) as census tracts where 40% or more of the residents have family or individual incomes that are less than 185% of the federal poverty threshold. (In 2016, 185% of the federal poverty threshold was $45,442 for a family of four or $22,622 for an individual living alone.) Some census tracts that meet this poverty threshold have a large share of college or graduate students; we exclude these census tracts from our defined Areas of Concentrated Poverty. To identify areas where people of color experience the most exposure to concentrated poverty, the Council further differentiates Areas of Concentrated Poverty where 50% or more of the residents are people of color (ACP50s). Note that the Metropolitan Council's Areas of Concentrated Poverty are different from the U.S Department of Housing and Urban Development's Racially / Ethnically Concentrated Areas of Poverty.
Minnesota Geospatial Commons
Minnesota, United States
Contributed by:
More details at